• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

adding effects to throwing items

Started by flameman050, March 30, 2013, 11:30:22 pm

flameman050

Hey, Im pretty new at this and ive just been testing out fft patcher and some beginner ASM hacking. Im trying to create a class (replacing ninja) that specializes in throwing weapons/knives. Is there any way for me to add status effects to throwing weapons? If so, how? I cant seem to find a way to do it via the hacker and can't find anything on it online.

Jumza

I believe that someone made an ASM hack for something like this, I'll look around for a bit and get back to you.

EDIT: Yup found it, in Choto's ASM thread http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=8507.0
It changes the effect for the elemental balls. If you want to change the graphic of the ball itself, it can be found in the ShiShi Sprite manager on the page with all the weapons. It's not 100% what you need, but it does allow you to change a little bit.
  • Modding version: PSX
Nyzer: Alma teleports out of her own possessed body.
Raijinili: Remember that you're telling a modding community that the game they love could use some fixing.

Pride

of course you can ror, if you can do the asm for it :]

which is the answer, its possible if you create the hack yourself (or if someone is nice enough to do it such as pokey, choto, or myselft)
Check out my ASM thread. Who doesn't like hax?

Jumza

derp. Failed to read "status" before effect :/
Nyzer: Alma teleports out of her own possessed body.
Raijinili: Remember that you're telling a modding community that the game they love could use some fixing.

flameman050

Quote from: Jumza on March 30, 2013, 11:54:21 pm
I believe that someone made an ASM hack for something like this, I'll look around for a bit and get back to you.

EDIT: Yup found it, in Choto's ASM thread http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=8507.0