• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

June 02, 2024, 05:18:58 pm

News:

Don't be hasty to start your own mod; all our FFT modding projects are greatly understaffed! Find out how you can help in the Recruitment section or our Discord!

What is the easiest way to change Genrics colors?

Started by HackingNoob, September 02, 2008, 12:17:27 am

HackingNoob

September 02, 2008, 12:17:27 am Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by HackingNoob
I am a total noob at this.  All I want to do is swap my party units' colors with those of, lets say, Nanten or Death Corps. How would I go about doing that in the easiest way?

Thanks for help  :D

CidIII

September 02, 2008, 12:31:07 am #1 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by CidIII
Not sure about this, but I think you actually have to export it (the .SPR) and apply Color map changes.

You can however pick different palettes in the ENTD tab but thats only for battles and you can't pick it for your party.
I refuse to play Final Fantasy Tactics again until I am able to do my FF6 patch! And, FFT 1.3 doesn't technically count as FFT: so there!

Cheetah

September 02, 2008, 12:38:16 am #2 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Cheetah
Hey Defias, glad to see you made it over. I have always thought it would be cool if alternate palettes could be used in the party, especially for invited units. Unfortunately no one (that I know of) is currently trying to implement this into the game. But there are probably a few ways you could do it for just changing the default party palette of a particular class.

The way I know how to do it would involve change the palette of the actual sprites. The programs you will need are:
Newest Version of FFTPatcher (see download section)
CDMage Beta (google search for the most recent version)
Graphics Gale (google search for the basic free version)
ISO of PSX FFT