• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

June 14, 2024, 05:08:34 pm

News:

Don't be hasty to start your own mod; all our FFT modding projects are greatly understaffed! Find out how you can help in the Recruitment section or our Discord!

I'm trying to make JP Boost innate

Started by Tzepish, April 27, 2008, 02:52:49 pm

Tzepish

April 27, 2008, 02:52:49 pm Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Tzepish
Hey everyone... I'm new to FFTactics hacking, and I've played around a bit with FFTPatcher, so I know a little bit about how this works... with that background, here's what I'd like to accomplish:

I'd like to make JP Boost permanent and innate - you'll always gain JP as if you had JP Boost equipped.  The reason being that I feel this ability actually makes the game less fun - it's so good that most of the time, the optimal choice is to have it equipped, at the expense of every other ability for that slot.  Getting rid of JP Boost should make the game more fun in that you'll basically gain another ability slot that is seldom used throughout the game...

That said, what's the best way to accomplish this?  I can think of a few ways to handle this conundrum:

1.)  Make JP Boost Innate for all classes, remove it from the Squire ability list, and rename it to something like "Dummy". The problem with this is that I'd have to figure out what to do with classes that already have four innate abilities, such as Dragonkin.

2.)  Get the formula for JP Boost (is it double JP? 175%? - whatever it is), then adjust all JP costs downward to match, then remove JP Boost from the Squire, change its effect to nothing, and rename it "Dummy".

or what I'd really like to do, but I suspect is not currently possible:
3.)  Add the JP Boost effect to every ability (including blank slot), then remove JP Boost from Squire and rename it "Dummy".

Number 3 is how I solved this exact same problem for Sprint Shoes in Final Fantasy 6.

Anyway, any insights out there?