• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

(maybe) making my own game....

Started by mekk_pilot, July 14, 2012, 09:43:09 pm

mekk_pilot

So I've always loved FFT, but when I think about ways I'd like to warp it to my will, I wonder to myself:  why not attempt to make your own game?

I'm not a total noob to design;  I've got a table-top RPG system on sale for kindle.  That probably took a hundred hours to design and test, so I've got commitment to follow-through.  I'm not bad with fiction either, but I haven't published or self-published any of that--it hasn't gotten through my internal censors.

What I'm wondering is if I can get a sprite artist on board while the game is still in a nebulous form, so when the story and gameplay are in a more concrete form, We'll(!) have some art to back it up.  I'd love for the art to be done FFT-style. 

I'm imagining a FFT-like game with much larger battlefields, that are semi-randomly generated (by which I mean, there will be strict parameters for an iteration to comply with, but the exact layout will be different on every playthrough).

There will be no levels (there are none in my table-top RPG either);  skills will be closely balanced and every skill will have an opportunity cost.  There will be no obviously *right* build.  Many of the opponents will have their skills generated randomly, in the same way as the battlefields.