• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

April 16, 2024, 06:36:04 am

News:

Please use .png instead of .bmp when uploading unfinished sprites to the forum!

Patch Merging [Solved]

Started by Isilud, October 03, 2021, 07:27:04 pm

Isilud

October 03, 2021, 07:27:04 pm Last Edit: October 05, 2021, 08:53:42 am by Isilud
Hello,

I am sorry if this has been posted before, but I just had a couple of questions regarding a patch I am working on.
The patch is for the War of the Lions version.

1. Is it possible to merge the slowdown patch with mine? If so, how does one do this?
2. Is it possible to merge my .ffttext file into my patch? I have never altered the text before and I am not sure of the proper order to apply my changes.

I was hoping to put the three alterations (my patch, my text changes, and the slowdown patch) in one complete package if at all possible. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Isilud

(This is my first time properly using these tools. I have played this game for over 20 years and it got me my start in computers in general thanks to gameshark hacking back in the day lol.)
  • Modding version: PSX & WotL
No sooner speak the devil's name and he doth appear.

nitwit

If you're talking about distribution, it's best to patch your rom with someone else's patch first, then build your stuff on that. When you want to distribute your mod, make a patch from your final version against the 100% unpatched vanilla version.

For bug reporting, make sure you credit other people whose patches you used, and if possible the version of their patch you used. It's also a very good idea to include hashes of your vanilla rom, your final patched rom, and all the patches you used.

HxD hex editor lets you make hashes of files.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HxD
https://mh-nexus.de/en/hxd/

Isilud

Ah I can't believe I overlooked that!

- So I took a fresh ISO