Final Fantasy Hacktics

Modding => Help! => Topic started by: NewbeeFFModder on August 23, 2020, 04:20:22 am

Title: Destroy Equipment Mechanism (Solved)
Post by: NewbeeFFModder on August 23, 2020, 04:20:22 am
Hi I want to make new skill with fftpatcher that can destroy equip such as weapon and armor but I don't know what should I do except by cloning the skill and change the effect (animation)...i just want to know how to correctly destroy weapon or armor without cloning skill...Because the formula I found only 2E which destroy equip and give damage...I cant select which equip part I want to destroy :cry: sorry for my bad english Im not native I hope you guys still understand :)
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: Nyzer on August 23, 2020, 01:04:25 pm
Those specific skill slots are hardcoded to target specific kinds of equipment. It isn't something you can change in the Patcher.
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: NewbeeFFModder on August 23, 2020, 06:09:48 pm
If I change Head Break (Knight Skill) formula into 2E which give damage when equip destroyed...The hardcoded default will make that skill still target the same specific equipment (which is Helmet/hat in this case) right?

And if I just clone Shellbust Stab into empty skill slot (i found unused skill slot in Elric thread) will it target the same equip (Armor are Shellbust Stab target) if I just edit it's effect (animation)?
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: Nyzer on August 23, 2020, 08:00:30 pm
1) Yes

2) I have no idea.
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: NewbeeFFModder on August 24, 2020, 01:10:58 am
If that the case I'll just have to try it myself then, and one more question completely unrelated to this topic, I use sprite 3A (Celia never used) but I dont know how to link it to formation sprite (unit bin and world face bin) can you tell me how to do it?I only use Shishi sprite editor to edit sprite
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: Orkney on August 24, 2020, 01:57:44 am
Hi,

I think it won't work.
The ASM hardcoding for the break/steal slot, point to the ability ID not the formula or the effect.

You'll have to use a formula that call the break/steal routine from an ability hardcoded to steal or break the armor (i'm not even sure that you can break the armor instead of stealing it...)

For the sprite 3A, i'm not sure but there is a spreadsheet from Glain here : UWentries  (https://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=7833.0).
Apparently 8D should be the entry to be used... This hack is for special character (i guess the formation sprite will not change when changing job).
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: 3lric on August 24, 2020, 02:14:20 am
Quote from: Orkney on August 24, 2020, 01:57:44 amHi,

I think it won't work.
The ASM hardcoding for the break/steal slot, point to the ability ID not the formula or the effect.

You'll have to use a formula that call the break/steal routine from an ability hardcoded to steal or break the armor (i'm not even sure that you can break the armor instead of stealing it...)

For the sprite 3A, i'm not sure but there is a spreadsheet from Glain here : UWentries  (https://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=7833.0).
Apparently 8D should be the entry to be used... This hack is for special character (i guess the formation sprite will not change when changing job).

You can actually remap most of those UNIT.BIN/WLDFACE.BIN related stuff right in FFTP now in version .493 :)
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: NewbeeFFModder on August 24, 2020, 06:38:17 am
So if I use orgASM I can make those hardcoded skill?I never use that program thought
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: NewbeeFFModder on August 24, 2020, 06:39:49 am
Quote from: Elric on August 24, 2020, 02:14:20 amYou can actually remap most of those UNIT.BIN/WLDFACE.BIN related stuff right in FFTP now in version .493 :)

Can you make quick tutorial in here or the link to someone else thread about this?I download the full version instead of beta fftp because me still new
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: Orkney on August 24, 2020, 03:53:23 pm
Hi,

As far as i know, you'll have to write the ASM code (or find somebody who can do it, or learn to do it) , and then you can use orgASM to import it in your Mod.

For the sprite thing, i dig a little in FFTP .493 (havent used it yet) and there is those two fields in the Jobs sheets, at the very right of the last innate ability. The first one appears to be the formation sprite and the second the portrait.
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: nitwit on August 24, 2020, 07:38:38 pm
Here are some - not sure if they are all - of the relevant ASM routines on the wiki.



For dealing with Steal or Breaking items, this is what you need.
https://ffhacktics.com/wiki/Steal/Break/Might_Sword_Hard_Coding

It is used in these routines:
https://ffhacktics.com/wiki/25_Equipped:_Break_Hit_(PA%2BWP%2BX)%25
https://ffhacktics.com/wiki/26_Equipped:_Steal_Hit_(SP%2BX)%25
https://ffhacktics.com/wiki/2E_Equipped:Break_Dmg_(PA*WP)

Note that it checks specific ability slots (Weapon Break, Armor Break, ...); the comments really should say that it checks a specific slot along with the vanilla ability in that position. You could change those so it instead checks if the X or Y value for a given ability is above or below certain values to determine what equipment slot it breaks. I'm not an ASM hacker so I can't say for sure how you'd change it to accomplish it, but it seems doable as far as ASM hacks go.

Look here to get started on finding the "Ability X" and "Ability Y" (Ctrl F them) values, but you'll need more help than I can currently offer to make sense of it:
https://ffhacktics.com/wiki/Data/Table_Locations

Also note the addresses where the steal/break hardcoding routine jumps around. Those jumps are essentially if/else-if/else conditionals, though it helps to write it down on paper to get the concepts. You could probably muddle through changing those to ability x/y values with a little hand-holding from an ASM hacker.

The "jal" opcode is a subroutine/function call. I'm not evolved enough yet to make high level programming analogies to other MIPS language structures - if someone wants to write a guide on doing so, please do so.



If you want to change which stat is affected by the Knight and Rune Knight stat break skills, look at this routine:
https://ffhacktics.com/wiki/Determine_which_stat_will_be_reduced

It is used in these routines:
https://ffhacktics.com/wiki/2B_Hit_(PA%2BX)%25_//_-PA/MA/SP_(X)
https://ffhacktics.com/wiki/1A_Hit_F(MA%2BY)%25_//_-PA/MA/SP_(X)

I assume you'd do the same thing here as above.

Maybe post this reply in discord and see if anyone wants to help you. I am personally interested in dehardcoding breaks/steals, which is why I had this reply prepared.
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: NewbeeFFModder on August 25, 2020, 12:19:06 pm
I have some very basic problem with editing skill I want to use with sword or any weapon attack...It always ended with normal magic cast...How to edit it?I already mark the weapon strike at the fftpacher

I really want Ramza use Ultima Slash and Time Blade which is damage and give slow or stop...I think normal spell cast on Ramza Ultima are such a waste
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: Jumza on August 25, 2020, 02:09:11 pm
Go to the ability where its listed in the Animations tab of the FFTPatcher and put 07 00 00 next to it (same as other sword skills such as Stasis Sword).

You can find out more about animations for skills here https://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=8352.msg165621#msg165621
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism
Post by: NewbeeFFModder on August 25, 2020, 06:40:35 pm
Quote from: Jumza on August 25, 2020, 02:09:11 pmGo to the ability where its listed in the Animations tab of the FFTPatcher and put 07 00 00 next to it (same as other sword skills such as Stasis Sword).

You can find out more about animations for skills here https://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=8352.msg165621#msg165621

It works with staves and others right?
Title: Re: Destroy Equipment Mechanism (Solved)
Post by: Jumza on August 26, 2020, 09:44:07 pm
Yeah it'll use whatever weapon the unit has equipped!