• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

April 19, 2024, 04:36:41 am

News:

Don't be hasty to start your own mod; all our FFT modding projects are greatly understaffed! Find out how you can help in the Recruitment section or our Discord!

Trying to get PSX Emulator to work with patched WotL

Started by CloakofShadow, December 04, 2021, 05:19:16 pm

CloakofShadow

Hello,

I'm relatively new to using emulators and getting them to work. I've used multiple different emulators like ePSXe 2.0.5 and PSX v1.13. I've tried going through the tutorials and working through the forums but I've had little to no luck trying to get this to work.

My current setup that I'm trying to work with is ePSXe since I've been able to get the furthest with that emulator. I know the ISO before the patch works because I've been able to get it to work with PPSSPP. No issues there. When I patch the ISO though and run it through ePSXe it goes to a black screen and then crashes. I went through several tutorials and settings but nothing has seemed to work so far. Any assistance is greatly appreciated. :cry:  :cry:
  • Modding version: Other/Unknown

Nyzer

CloakofShadow

I've used PPSSPP. It's what I used before I patched the ISO. When I run it via PPSSPP after patching, it says "Could not load game. Failed to load executable: File Corrupt". I used ppf-o-matic to patch the ISO so unless there's something else I'm doing wrong, I'm not sure why PPSSPP is not allowing it to run.

nitwit

Let's find out if your rom is corrupt.

Use the Command Prompt Tutorial to navigate to wherever you store your roms while you're working on them, then run Get-FileHash to get IIRC a sha256 hash of your rom before and after you patch it, as well as the patch itself.

https://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=12738.msg230115#msg230115

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powershell/module/microsoft.powershell.utility/get-filehash?view=powershell-7.2

Get-FileHash filename.iso > filename_hash.txt