• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

May 26, 2024, 04:26:35 pm

News:

Don't be hasty to start your own mod; all our FFT modding projects are greatly understaffed! Find out how you can help in the Recruitment section or our Discord!

WLDTEX.TM2 file format

Started by Phoenix, August 20, 2008, 11:04:15 am

Phoenix

August 20, 2008, 11:04:15 am Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Phoenix
Hi all, do you remember me? (i think you don't :P )
I'm Phoenix from SadNES cITy.
Some of you knows we are working on Final Fantasy Tactics translating it into italian. We discovered a lot of things about text files format, graphics (mapping info etc.), the compression used by the game.
We also succeded in importing the new PSP translation (after translating it into Italian, of course!) into the PSX version.
Recently, I studied the WLDTEX.TM2 file, i found it's an archive wich contains the whole world map and other minor graphics (Location names, spites etc).

I wrote this doc explaining how this file works. I hope you're interested in it.

This is and example on how my tool can manage this file.

http://www.sadnescity.it/backup/phoenix/wldtex.jpg

LastingDawn

August 20, 2008, 11:23:02 am #1 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by LastingDawn
Very interesting... we've been wondering about this for quite a time! Though how did you have room to put all of the WoTL script into FFT?
"Moment's anger can revert to joy,
sadness can be turned to delight.
A nation destroyed cannot be restored,
the dead brought back to life."

Art of War

Beta & Gretchen Forever!!!!

Vanya

August 20, 2008, 11:41:08 am #2 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Vanya
Pwnage! this is sure to be extremely valuable! =)
  • Modding version: Other/Unknown
¯\(°_0)/¯

Phoenix

August 21, 2008, 06:09:19 am #3 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Phoenix