• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

May 29, 2024, 02:32:09 am

News:

Please use .png instead of .bmp when uploading unfinished sprites to the forum!

Somehow, I doubt it, but... (Re: Music)

Started by Hana, June 07, 2008, 06:15:27 pm

Hana

June 07, 2008, 06:15:27 pm Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Hana
I know we can extract the music from FFT and convert it into listenable forms et cetera, but here's a question, could we insert new music? Is that possible? I'm a musician and I think it'd be stellar if I could put some new tunes in. Not to dismiss Uematsu, his work is incredible and I love it to death. It is, in fact, what inspires me as a musician a lot of times. I was just thinking, you know, if I created my own patch for release, that having some custom music as well would be nifty.
I'll leave thinking up witty signatures to the prose.

Xifanie

June 07, 2008, 08:35:10 pm #1 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Xifanie
To make it short: not in the near future.

To make it long: We'd have to completely rewrite the sound bank and create songs in the same format FFT uses.

I'm no sound engineer, so I can't do it myself and have no idea of the amount of work that would require. Melonhead said a few days ago that he wished to do the same; not soon though.
  • Modding version: PSX
Love what you're seeing? https://supportus.ffhacktics.com/ 💜 it's really appreciated

Anything is possible as long as it is within the hardware's limits. (ie. disc space, RAM, Video RAM, processor, etc.)
<R999> My target market is not FFT mod players
<Raijinili> remember that? it was awful

Hana

June 07, 2008, 09:53:16 pm #2 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Hana
Ah well. Thank you for the answer though! ^_^

Vanya

June 08, 2008, 02:59:02 am #3 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Vanya