• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

April 26, 2024, 06:32:54 am

News:

Please use .png instead of .bmp when uploading unfinished sprites to the forum!

Code for modifying "Fly" ability using MassHexASM

Started by Thorronn, January 28, 2022, 09:11:12 am

Thorronn

Hey all.  I am an ASM hacking newbie and I have greatly benefitted from the wisdom of people on this site.

I am currently playing WOTL using the PPSSPP emulator.  I have beat the game many times and I am now trying to modify lesser used abilities for kicks and giggles on my 5th playthrough.  I would like to modify the "Fly" ability from the Bard job to have the same range as "Master Teleportation" or at least an increased range.

I have tried Googling, but the best I have been able to discover is that I need to use ASM hacking to do this, and that modifying this ability would require some lines of actual code.  Does anyone know what that code would be?  Bonus if someone would walk me through the steps to modify this ability and patch the new version into my game file.
  • Modding version: WotL

nitwit

February 03, 2022, 11:02:49 am #1 Last Edit: February 03, 2022, 02:12:16 pm by nitwit
There aren't a lot of resources available for the PSP version. IIRC there's a team doing a mod loader and various other very impressive things for the PSP on github, but I don't know where to find them, if their disassembly plugin is up to date, or whether hassling them to update it is possible. Here are all their github repositories:
https://github.com/orgs/FFT-Hackers/repositories

This seems especially relevant:
https://github.com/FFT-Hackers/TacticsCrafter

I do know that some of them are working on disassemblies of FF7 or FF8 over at Qhimm forums and their discord, so you could try there.