Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]
coolmotif30
  • share
  • [November 08, 2009, 06:11:24 AM]
making chemist items that only inflict status/attack
« on: November 08, 2009, 06:11:24 AM »
ok i know i have been asking a lot of questions and for that i'm sorry!
i tried searching around from some info on this but didn't find much.  I might just be looking in the wrong spot so if i am i am sorry.

With the FFTpatcher you can change the chemist item formulas around but only a few are named.  Is there a way to make some not add life but take it away? i see how to make them inflict status ailments but not take away life
any help appreciated!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by coolmotif30 »
Lydyn [Posts: 1100]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [November 08, 2009, 03:39:23 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2009, 03:39:23 PM »
Use formula OE (it's the death formula if you look under abilities) and even though it seems blank, it's going to inflict 100% status. Just make sure it inflicts death. That should work.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Lydyn »
Likes to move it move it.
philsov [Posts: 4598]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [November 08, 2009, 04:06:17 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2009, 04:06:17 PM »
Nope. Item's basically on its own little table. I can import a very limited number of formula into item (namely, anything which can stand its X and Y value to be zero).

Formulas that actually do work with Item:

01 = 1 * WP damage!
02 = WP*WP damage with 25% chance to cast ability/spell (rigging up potion to cast holy is pretty funny when combined with auto-potion!)
03 = WP*WP damage
04 = weak faith-based ice damage
05 = WP*WP damage, 25% chance to inflict status off status table
06 = drain WP*WP damage
07 = Heal WP*WP
09+ = MA% chance to inflict status/quick/ct00/all health but 1/all MP damage (ew)
14 = Golem (with some pretty funky success #'s)
1E/1F = single-target single-hit with truth or untruth formula (quadratic MA!) damage (440 damage from a mage at level 99)
20 = 0 damage, 25% status proc
24 = elemental formula, [PA / 2] * MA damage + status proc
25 = weapon strike
2D = PA * WP, 100% status
31 = [PA/2] * PA damage
32 = PA*3 damage
33 = PA% chance to inflict (ew)
38 = 100% status infliction (or cancel or whatever)
3C = Wish (heal 40%, receive 20% damage)
3E = 100% hp-1 damage (OP!)
43 = Shock (max hp - cur hp damage)
44 = damage HP = current MP (kinda cool, imo, but OP for the player at zodiacs)
45 = Climhazard (targets max - current) damage
52 = self descruct (complete with 100% status) -- imagine auto-potion THEN.
60 = truth formula + 6.25% status
63 = SP*WP damage (throw)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by philsov »
Just another rebel plotting rebellion.
coolmotif30
  • share
  • [November 08, 2009, 04:20:11 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2009, 04:20:11 PM »
awesome! thank you so much guys! really appreciate the help!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by coolmotif30 »
Event Kid, Mr. Peanut
Jumza [Posts: 1518]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [November 08, 2009, 09:01:58 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2009, 09:01:58 PM »
YES THANK YOU! now i can finally make my alchemist job! :)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Jumza »
    • Modding version: PSX
  • Check out my project ~ FFT: A Stone's Ripple : http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=10857.0
    The demo was just released! Come check it out!
    Nyzer: Alma teleports out of her own possessed body.
    coolmotif30
    • share
    • [November 08, 2009, 11:14:02 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #5 on: November 08, 2009, 11:14:02 PM »
    ok so if i say make elixer cause the status effects: Oil, Undead, Death sentence, and frog (just an example not really what i wanna do)
    if i change the number for the Inflict Status to say 01 then change the 01 inflict status option to Random from all/nothing, would that cause those effects randomly? like sometimes oil sometimes undead or would it randomly apply all of them or nothing.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by coolmotif30 »
    Event Kid, Mr. Peanut
    Jumza [Posts: 1518]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [November 09, 2009, 12:21:43 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #6 on: November 09, 2009, 12:21:43 AM »
    Setting status effects to random will alway's do one but its one random one that you have checked.
    all/nothing will do everything you have checked.
    Cancel will cancel all effects you have checked.
    Seperate...ive never been quite sure but you can test it and see what happens.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Jumza »
    • Modding version: PSX
  • Check out my project ~ FFT: A Stone's Ripple : http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=10857.0
    The demo was just released! Come check it out!
    Nyzer: Alma teleports out of her own possessed body.
    Event Kid, Mr. Peanut
    Jumza [Posts: 1518]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [November 09, 2009, 01:01:53 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #7 on: November 09, 2009, 01:01:53 AM »
    I'm having a problem with this.. making my alchemist job replacing calculator
    I made the skillset Item inventory instead of arethmatics set the editid item into the skillset and tryed out the job
    I couldnt use anything from the slchemy skillset i even made sure i had all the items...
    but atleast i know they work cuz i later tried them out as chemist abilities...
    But i want alchemist to be a whole new job whats the problem?
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Jumza »
    • Modding version: PSX
  • Check out my project ~ FFT: A Stone's Ripple : http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=10857.0
    The demo was just released! Come check it out!
    Nyzer: Alma teleports out of her own possessed body.
    Lydyn [Posts: 1100]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [November 09, 2009, 01:11:55 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #8 on: November 09, 2009, 01:11:55 AM »
    Using the Chemist skillset for anything other than item is glitchy at best, because of coding, and the same for any skillset trying to use item. You're better off using Chemist as the new Alchemsit.

    Also;
    • Random: Chooses one random status from those checked.
    • Cancel: Cancels choosen statuses.
    • All or Nothing: Inflicts all or none of the statuses.
    • Seperate: Rolls seperate perchantages for each status checked.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Lydyn »
    Event Kid, Mr. Peanut
    Jumza [Posts: 1518]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [November 09, 2009, 01:15:09 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #9 on: November 09, 2009, 01:15:09 AM »
    Ohk i guess it would make chemists more intresting in my patch. Ive alway's wanted to make chemists better.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Jumza »
    • Modding version: PSX
  • Check out my project ~ FFT: A Stone's Ripple : http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=10857.0
    The demo was just released! Come check it out!
    Nyzer: Alma teleports out of her own possessed body.
    coolmotif30
    • share
    • [November 09, 2009, 02:42:18 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #10 on: November 09, 2009, 02:42:18 AM »
    hmm can having too many codes on for the gameshark cause it to freeze? i added the new chemist codes i was wanting and i have checked them and re checked them and still the game will freeze randomly
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by coolmotif30 »
    Likes to move it move it.
    philsov [Posts: 4598]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [November 09, 2009, 07:18:59 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #11 on: November 09, 2009, 07:18:59 PM »
    either freeze or simply stop submitted codes (all subsequent codes are ignored), pending a few variables.

    Thankfully, GS changes are saved when the game saves.  If you have too much code, just input some of them, save the game, then restart GS/game again with a brand new bundle of codes and shoot those through as well.  Should play just as well.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by philsov »
    Just another rebel plotting rebellion.
    coolmotif30
    • share
    • [November 11, 2009, 03:14:19 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #12 on: November 11, 2009, 03:14:19 AM »
    wait it saves to the game? like what saves exactly? like skill sets and everything? i had no idea it saved.  Even ability animation mods?
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by coolmotif30 »
    Likes to move it move it.
    philsov [Posts: 4598]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [November 11, 2009, 03:43:46 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #13 on: November 11, 2009, 03:43:46 PM »
    if it's GS code, it saves.  

    Only thing it seems kind of flippant about are the double-line codes like the world debug, but I don't think stuff like that is a patcher function.  so you only need to input the GS stuff once.  You save the game, and then you can turn off/throw away the GS and everything -should- still be there.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by philsov »
    Just another rebel plotting rebellion.
    coolmotif30
    • share
    • [November 12, 2009, 12:03:25 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #14 on: November 12, 2009, 12:03:25 AM »
    ok awesome i had no idea.
    thanks for answering my questions!
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by coolmotif30 »
    Skip Sandwich [Posts: 994]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [November 12, 2009, 12:18:54 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #15 on: November 12, 2009, 12:18:54 AM »
    one more small detail of note, of the alternate formula's that do work with Item, those that reference WP use that of the equipped weapon, not that of the item, making it difficult to emulate grenade like items, since their power level will change with your stats and equipment, instead of being based on the item.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Skip Sandwich »
    “Dave?  Are you there?”
    “Yeah.  I can’t get you through the cell now.”
    “You have to talk through the bratwurst from now on. I’m sorry. I didn’t know it would do that.”
    http://www.johndiesattheend.com
    coolmotif30
    • share
    • [November 18, 2009, 07:35:28 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #16 on: November 18, 2009, 07:35:28 PM »
    ok so Philsov,

    the codes don't save on the PSX gameshark.
    I have changed like skill sets and ability affects and saved the game and if i load the game again without codes on all those affects go away.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by coolmotif30 »
    Likes to move it move it.
    philsov [Posts: 4598]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [November 18, 2009, 09:29:04 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #17 on: November 18, 2009, 09:29:04 PM »
    perhaps I'm just getting senile, then.  

    Or maybe the emulator saves them.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by philsov »
    Just another rebel plotting rebellion.
    Pages: [1]