Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Use of ePSXe before 2.0 is highly discouraged. Mednafen/RetroArch is recommended for playing/testing, pSX is recommended for debugging.

Map Editor: Ganesha 0.60 Released  (Read 49842 times)
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11
gomtuu [Posts: 208]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 12, 2009, 05:40:11 PM]
Map Editor: Ganesha 0.60 Released
« on: March 12, 2009, 05:40:11 PM »
I mentioned a couple weeks ago that I'd started working on a map editor. Here it is!

http://gomtuu.org/fft/Ganesha/

Note that it doesn't actually edit maps yet because it's still an early version. All it does is let you zoom and rotate the map (using the mouse wheel) and click on a polygon to see where you'd have to look in the mesh file if you wanted to edit that polygon with a hex editor. While that alone might be sort of useful, I'm mostly releasing this version as a test to make sure you guys can run it. Unlike map2gl, Ganesha uses Panda3D, so the environment's a little different.

I've only released a binary version for now because it's more likely to "just work." One benefit of using Panda3D is that it's able to create an installable package with everything your Python program needs, so if you're using Windows, you can just double-click it to install it like a real program. :) Unfortunately, this installer is about 30MB. I do plan to release source versions (which should only be a few dozen KB or so) alongside the binary versions in the future, but getting the source version to work will involve more setup on your end.

I also want to know if this works in Parallels, so if some Mac users could try it, I'd appreciate it.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2010, 04:44:36 PM by gomtuu »
Archael
  • share
  • [March 12, 2009, 06:47:33 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 06:47:33 PM »
testing on parallels now
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Archael »
Archael
  • share
  • [March 12, 2009, 07:12:27 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2009, 07:12:27 PM »
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Archael »
Queen of Palemoon
Celdia [Posts: 1645]
  • View Profile
  • http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198029710324/
  • share
  • [March 12, 2009, 07:25:58 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2009, 07:25:58 PM »
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Celdia »
gomtuu [Posts: 208]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 12, 2009, 07:36:47 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2009, 07:36:47 PM »
I don't know much about Parallels, but if Parallels keeps a C:\Windows\system32 folder somewhere, putting msvcr71.dll in there might fix it. Try that.

What's weird is that there is a copy of msvcr71.dll in Ganesha's bin folder. I don't know why Python's not seeing it.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by gomtuu »
French Maid
Xifanie (Webmistress) [Posts: 4468]
  • View Profile
  • Final Fantasy Hacktics
  • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Xifanie
  • share
  • [March 12, 2009, 08:33:47 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2009, 08:33:47 PM »
This is not the first time parralels is going gay with Arch for File Location.

He had problems running FFTPatcher? on his new computer as well.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Xifanie »
    • Modding version: PSX
  • <R999> My target market is not FFT mod players
    <Raijinili> remember that? it was awful
    SentinalBlade [Posts: 1505]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 12, 2009, 09:27:47 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #6 on: March 12, 2009, 09:27:47 PM »
    Holy shit gomtuu, freaking download of 2megabytes a second O.O
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by SentinalBlade »
    Archael
    • share
    • [March 12, 2009, 09:58:05 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #7 on: March 12, 2009, 09:58:05 PM »
    Quote from: "Zodiac"
    This is not the first time parralels is going gay with Arch for File Location.

    He had problems running FFTPatcher? on his new computer as well.

    because all the FFTPATCHERFFTPATCH files need to be inside the actual /c drive for fftpatcherfftpatch to work, contrary to just accessing them through your mac desktop which the new parallels can do

    I'll try it out with the .dll tomorrow and get

    BACK

    TO

    YOU

    Quote
    I don't know much about Parallels, but if Parallels keeps a C:\Windows\system32 folder somewhere, putting msvcr71.dll in there might fix it.


    yeah it does

    I will
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Archael »
    Cheetah [Posts: 3656]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 13, 2009, 01:07:52 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #8 on: March 13, 2009, 01:07:52 AM »
    OMG I can't wait to try this out!
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Cheetah »
    Current Projects:
    karsten
    • share
    • [March 13, 2009, 07:21:07 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #9 on: March 13, 2009, 07:21:07 AM »
    great to see how things are growing up :)

    nice one goomtu
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by karsten »
    gomtuu [Posts: 208]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 14, 2009, 04:16:25 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #10 on: March 14, 2009, 04:16:25 AM »
    Has anybody gotten it working yet?
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by gomtuu »
    CidIII [Posts: 971]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 14, 2009, 05:01:38 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #11 on: March 14, 2009, 05:01:38 AM »
    Yeah, is there anyway to make it stop rotating?

    Also, I could make a video of it if anyone wants to see it in action.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by CidIII »
    I refuse to play Final Fantasy Tactics again until I am able to do my FF6 patch! And, FFT 1.3 doesn't technically count as FFT: so there!
    gomtuu [Posts: 208]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 14, 2009, 01:53:46 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #12 on: March 14, 2009, 01:53:46 PM »
    Quote from: "CidIII"
    Yeah, is there anyway to make it stop rotating?

    Glad someone was able to. :) Windows or Parallels?

    If you click and drag the mouse wheel, the automatic rotation will stop and you'll be able to rotate the camera to the angle you want (and it'll stay there). You can also turn the mouse wheel to zoom in and out.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by gomtuu »
    CidIII [Posts: 971]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 14, 2009, 07:33:48 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #13 on: March 14, 2009, 07:33:48 PM »
    Cool thanks, I think it works just fine on Windows. Is it normal that tiles aren't the right color?
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by CidIII »
    I refuse to play Final Fantasy Tactics again until I am able to do my FF6 patch! And, FFT 1.3 doesn't technically count as FFT: so there!
    gomtuu [Posts: 208]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 14, 2009, 08:48:43 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #14 on: March 14, 2009, 08:48:43 PM »
    Quote from: "CidIII"
    Cool thanks, I think it works just fine on Windows. Is it normal that tiles aren't the right color?

    Yeah, Ganesha 0.01 doesn't support texture palettes. It just applies a simple grayscale palette to all the polygons.

    Have any Mac users gotten it working in Parallels yet?

    If it can't be made to work in Parallels, all hope is not lost. According to what I've read, the next version of Panda3D is going to be available for OSX as well as Windows and Linux, and once it's released, you should be able to use it to run the source version of Ganesha in OSX. (The current version of Panda3D is only available for Windows and Linux, which is part of the reason I haven't released the source version of Ganesha 0.01 yet.)
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by gomtuu »
    Cheetah [Posts: 3656]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 14, 2009, 10:20:43 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #15 on: March 14, 2009, 10:20:43 PM »
    Hey Gomtuu sorry for the slow response it has been a crazy week. First time I tried running it in Parallels it said I was missing a library. I would tell you what it was exactly...but now I can't figure out how to run the program again. I can be stupid about these things but the only executable I see is the uninst.

    PS: "This application has failed to start because MSVCR71.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix the problem"
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Cheetah »
    Current Projects:
    CidIII [Posts: 971]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 15, 2009, 08:58:33 AM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #16 on: March 15, 2009, 08:58:33 AM »
    There should be a shortcut, but if there isn't open the 'main.py' file located in the 'game' folder with the program 'ppython.exe' located in the 'python' folder.

    Right click on 'main.py' and pick the 'Open With...' command. Make sure you choose 'ppython.exe', because 'python.exe' will not work.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by CidIII »
    I refuse to play Final Fantasy Tactics again until I am able to do my FF6 patch! And, FFT 1.3 doesn't technically count as FFT: so there!
    Cheetah [Posts: 3656]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 15, 2009, 05:41:41 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #17 on: March 15, 2009, 05:41:41 PM »
    It works! Thanks Cid, that did the trick. I just needed to download that dll and everything worked great.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Cheetah »
    Current Projects:
    gomtuu [Posts: 208]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 15, 2009, 06:29:08 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #18 on: March 15, 2009, 06:29:08 PM »
    Quote from: "Cheetah"
    It works! Thanks Cid, that did the trick. I just needed to download that dll and everything worked great.

    Great news! So, to be clear, putting MSVCR71.DLL in the Windows\system32 directory is all you have to do to get it working in Parallels?

    Parallels does have a Start Menu, right? Because the installer should've created a Ganesha folder in the Start Menu's Programs folder, and there should be a shortcut in there that'll launch Ganesha.

    About how fast (in frames/sec) is Ganesha when you run it in Parallels? Is it reasonable?
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by gomtuu »
    Cheetah [Posts: 3656]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 15, 2009, 07:12:42 PM]
    (No subject)
    « Reply #19 on: March 15, 2009, 07:12:42 PM »
    Ahhhhhh yeah I didn't know about the Start Menu shortcut. Yes all I had to do was put the DLL in the system directory to get things working in Parallels. I just got a new super speedy computer so things are running much faster now, however Ganesha is very very slow. Map2gl has always looked great and run smoothly, but Ganesha...well I would say the map rotates about 5-10 degrees for each frame of animation. So really fucking slow. Maybe if you didn't have the map rotating and selecting the coordinates of polygons at the same time it would run better, though I'm sure that is all to come in the future.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Cheetah »
    Current Projects:
    Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11