Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]
Tskidless [Posts: 7]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [April 21, 2018, 09:45:29 AM]
Issues with getting abilities to work on Ninja.
« on: April 21, 2018, 09:45:29 AM »
I've been working on a mod of this game and I've ran into a wall.  For whatever reason I can't get these new abilities to work on my Ninja.  They work fine when I put them on other skill sets but on Ninja for whatever reason a random weapon's name comes up and she swings her weapons with a zero chance to hit when I use it.  I've changed Throw on the action menu to default, and I've tried to place these skills on other skill sets and give them to the Ninja but it doesn't work.  Changing classes and setting it as a sub doesn't work either.  I've put a picture of what the skill looks like below.
The Puppet ---Master---
Elric (Overseer) [Posts: 3927]
  • View Profile
  • Youtube Channel
  • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Bones42
  • share
  • [April 21, 2018, 09:55:29 AM]
Re: Issues with getting abilities to work on Ninja.
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2018, 09:55:29 AM »
Throw is hardcoded.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • <@Angel> Teach a man to fish and he'll open up a fishery to compete against yours.
    Journey of the Five Youtube ChannelThe Lion War Current Status
       
    Jot5 Leader :: Eventer :: OtherTLW Leader :: Eventer :: Other
    Tskidless [Posts: 7]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [April 21, 2018, 10:23:56 AM]
    Re: Issues with getting abilities to work on Ninja.
    « Reply #2 on: April 21, 2018, 10:23:56 AM »
    I had a feeling that it was something like that.  I guess I'll give the abilities to Bard then.  Thank you for your time.
    Angel of Darkness
    RavenCurow [Posts: 44]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [April 21, 2018, 11:39:46 PM]
    Re: Issues with getting abilities to work on Ninja.
    « Reply #3 on: April 21, 2018, 11:39:46 PM »
    You could just use one of the empty skill sets. You can change which skillset Ninja uses in the jobs tab. Then you can name it in FFTactext.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • Ramza: Delita, your hurt?
    Delita: No, really? Did you think I was taking a nap down here?
    Nyzer [Posts: 797]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [April 22, 2018, 12:28:56 AM]
    Re: Issues with getting abilities to work on Ninja.
    « Reply #4 on: April 22, 2018, 12:28:56 AM »
    That'll cause other bugs IIRC.

    • Modding version: PSX & WotL
  • French Maid
    Xifanie (Webmistress) [Posts: 4323]
    • View Profile
    • Final Fantasy Hacktics
    • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Xifanie
    • share
    • [April 22, 2018, 12:33:17 AM]
    Re: Issues with getting abilities to work on Ninja.
    « Reply #5 on: April 22, 2018, 12:33:17 AM »
    You could just use one of the empty skill sets. You can change which skillset Ninja uses in the jobs tab. Then you can name it in FFTactext.
    That only works for WotL. On the PSX version, learnt abilities are based on skillset ID, so if you pick another skillset, in battle it's going to try to read Total Chemist JP as that's skillset's learnt abilities or something.

    As to how to solve this problem, change Throw's action menu to normal, use my Skillset Behaviours spreadsheet to change Throw to Basic Skill behaviour or something, and as for the ability names that pop up well, I don't know if a hack was ever made for it or gone public.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • <R999> My target market is not FFT mod players
    <Raijinili> remember that? it was awful
    Tskidless [Posts: 7]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [April 22, 2018, 10:00:17 PM]
    Re: Issues with getting abilities to work on Ninja.
    « Reply #6 on: April 22, 2018, 10:00:17 PM »
    I'll keep that in mind if / when I start modding War of the Lions.  I have ran into another issue where sprites glitch out during battle.  So far it has only happened at the Sand rats nest and the final battle of chapter 1 but I'm assuming that it is because I changed the classes of the knights that show up since I didn't want the early game to be too hard since I buffed Knight a lot.  I also changed the bosses weapon to be random since he level scales with the party in my mod.  The glitch sprite looks like a that thing you see on your computer before it blue screens and sometimes it looks like the nearby terrain.
    Angel of Darkness
    RavenCurow [Posts: 44]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [April 22, 2018, 10:28:55 PM]
    Re: Issues with getting abilities to work on Ninja.
    « Reply #7 on: April 22, 2018, 10:28:55 PM »
    That only works for WotL. On the PSX version, learnt abilities are based on skillset ID, so if you pick another skillset, in battle it's going to try to read Total Chemist JP as that's skillset's learnt abilities or something.

    As to how to solve this problem, change Throw's action menu to normal, use my Skillset Behaviours spreadsheet to change Throw to Basic Skill behaviour or something, and as for the ability names that pop up well, I don't know if a hack was ever made for it or gone public.


    Huh, I didn't realize that those would share jp with another skillset. I've always been using those to create new skillsets. I seemed to be able to gain jp and learn abilities just fine. Skill names popped up when using them too so I didn't realize anything different was going on. Lol

    I'll keep that in mind if / when I start modding War of the Lions.  I have ran into another issue where sprites glitch out during battle.  So far it has only happened at the Sand rats nest and the final battle of chapter 1 but I'm assuming that it is because I changed the classes of the knights that show up since I didn't want the early game to be too hard since I buffed Knight a lot.  I also changed the bosses weapon to be random since he level scales with the party in my mod.  The glitch sprite looks like a that thing you see on your computer before it blue screens and sometimes it looks like the nearby terrain.

    Sounds like you might have exceeded the sprite limit for the map. You can only have so many unique sprites on the map at one time. I think it was 9 IIRC.
    « Last Edit: April 22, 2018, 10:54:04 PM by RavenCurow »
    • Modding version: PSX
  • Ramza: Delita, your hurt?
    Delita: No, really? Did you think I was taking a nap down here?
    Pages: [1]