Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Don't be hasty to start your own mod; all our FFT modding projects are greatly understaffed. Find out how you can help in the Recruitment section.

Pages: [1]
Mickey B [Posts: 25]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [February 28, 2018, 09:34:16 AM]
For new unique units how do I assign which Unit.bin spot to use?
« on: February 28, 2018, 09:34:16 AM »
I'm using TWOL.

I know I have to edit unit.bin to change the graphics used in the formation screen, but I how do I make a unit or job correspond to a specific unit.bin graphic?
Mickey B [Posts: 25]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [February 28, 2018, 03:44:51 PM]
Re: For new unique units how do I assign which Unit.bin spot to use?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2018, 03:44:51 PM »
Also if I want to add a unique unit to TWOL, how can I make it so he can't switch jobs (like worker 8)?
French Maid
Xifanie (Webmistress) [Posts: 4399]
  • View Profile
  • Final Fantasy Hacktics
  • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Xifanie
  • share
  • [February 28, 2018, 09:36:15 PM]
Re: For new unique units how do I assign which Unit.bin spot to use?
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2018, 09:36:15 PM »
http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=10141.0

I don't know if you can edit UNIT.BIN for WotL with the latest Shishi version, but I know you can with the PSX version... if so that would make matters a lot easier for you.

Also if I want to add a unique unit to TWOL, how can I make it so he can't switch jobs (like worker 8)?
Monsters can't change jobs; that's how. You can't force it on male/female units.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • <R999> My target market is not FFT mod players
    <Raijinili> remember that? it was awful
    Mickey B [Posts: 25]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 02, 2018, 11:10:22 AM]
    Re: For new unique units how do I assign which Unit.bin spot to use?
    « Reply #3 on: March 02, 2018, 11:10:22 AM »
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=10141.0

    I don't know if you can edit UNIT.BIN for WotL with the latest Shishi version, but I know you can with the PSX version... if so that would make matters a lot easier for you.
    Monsters can't change jobs; that's how. You can't force it on male/female units.

    You can edit it with shishi, much more easily than those tutorials. The only thing I don't understand is how a spot in UNIT.bin is assigned to any given unit.


    All I can think to do is replace one of the jobs that already corresponds to a spot in UNIT.bin but isn't used, like some of the enemy-only classes. But then I'd have to go through and edit events and stuff to replace the enemy unit with it's new job, which is a pain in the ass, especially since some events don't show up in ENTD. So I was really hoping there was a way to just tell a job what UNIT.bin sprite to use.
    French Maid
    Xifanie (Webmistress) [Posts: 4399]
    • View Profile
    • Final Fantasy Hacktics
    • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Xifanie
    • share
    • [March 02, 2018, 12:53:40 PM]
    Re: For new unique units how do I assign which Unit.bin spot to use?
    « Reply #4 on: March 02, 2018, 12:53:40 PM »
    Sorry, I gave you a completely pointless reply, didn't I?

    This should be more helpful:
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11519.0
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=9776 (linked at the bottom of the first topic)

    Yes, you'd have to do all this stuff manually with a hex editor.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • <R999> My target market is not FFT mod players
    <Raijinili> remember that? it was awful
    Mickey B [Posts: 25]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 09, 2018, 11:25:03 AM]
    Re: For new unique units how do I assign which Unit.bin spot to use?
    « Reply #5 on: March 09, 2018, 11:25:03 AM »
    Thanks. So I figure overwriting an NPC that has a spot already in unit.bin will work as well. Any unused NPCs you know of?
    Nyzer [Posts: 898]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 09, 2018, 07:32:40 PM]
    Re: For new unique units how do I assign which Unit.bin spot to use?
    « Reply #6 on: March 09, 2018, 07:32:40 PM »
    I think there's a list somewhere? Don't remember offhand, but try doing a search for that or "unused formation sprite slots", see what turns up.

    • Modding version: PSX & WotL
  • Foreclosure [Posts: 6]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [March 12, 2018, 03:47:29 PM]
    Re: For new unique units how do I assign which Unit.bin spot to use?
    « Reply #7 on: March 12, 2018, 03:47:29 PM »
    I have been doing this for my own patch. I tried to replace ALL unused slots. I know the Cleric job (number 14, Alma's) is assigned to the priest that comes after Simon the Elder (on UNIT.bin), same for the portrait. I also replaced all guest units (Delita, Algus, Mustadio, Agrias, Gaffgarion and Olan) and used their assigned jobs, just changed the jobs with fftactext and FFTpatcher. I also did that same stuff with Valmafra and her job.
    The Puppet ---Master---
    Elric (Overseer) [Posts: 4068]
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
    • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Bones42
    • share
    • [March 13, 2018, 04:07:00 AM]
    Re: For new unique units how do I assign which Unit.bin spot to use?
    « Reply #8 on: March 13, 2018, 04:07:00 AM »
    UWEntries lets you reallocate the unit and wldface to other slots which makes it easier to setup new characters for slots that arent used.

    Prolly wont work with WotDerp though lol

    • Modding version: PSX
  • <@Angel> Teach a man to fish and he'll open up a fishery to compete against yours.
    Journey of the Five Youtube ChannelThe Lion War Current Status
       
    Jot5 Leader :: Eventer :: OtherTLW Leader :: Eventer :: Other
    Pages: [1]