Final Fantasy Hacktics

General => Archives => FFT+ => Topic started by: Wandering Cloud on August 15, 2012, 05:16:04 AM

Title: [Old] Problems editing FFT+ with FFTacText
Post by: Wandering Cloud on August 15, 2012, 05:16:04 AM
I wanted to change one of the job descriptions and it's skill set in the text editor, however when I load the iso it gives an error saying "Error loading file: Input string was not in a correct format. "

The only solution for this that I've found is opening an unpatched iso, editing what I want, and then applying this to a patched iso. The big problem with this is that upon loading my game the things I want are changed, however all text other than that has been reverted to vanilla.

This obviously has some weird crossover problems like onion knights called arc witches and numerous other things. I've noticed other problems with attempting to edit sprites, having to edit an original iso and then patch it to FFT+ in order for it to work. Is there any way to work around this problem?
Title: Re: Problems editing FFT+ with FFTacText
Post by: Dome on August 15, 2012, 07:46:05 AM
I guess it has to do with the expanded ISO
Sadly, I'm not knowledgeable on the matter...maybe expanding the ISO before applying the patch might solve the issue?
Title: Re: Problems editing FFT+ with FFTacText
Post by: vereleisk on August 17, 2015, 01:13:49 AM
Just a heads up, i ran into the same problem. Use v0.457, it's the most recent version that'll allow editing a modified ISO.
Title: Re: Problems editing FFT+ with FFTacText
Post by: Elric on August 17, 2015, 01:37:22 AM
(there is more relevant and recent info on this in another thread in this section, this one is 3 years old)

Any version will allow modifying it. There was an issue with his tactext file that I recently fixed. The issue isn't changing it, it's using newer versions of tactext that cause bugs in the file itself after saving.
Title: Re: Problems editing FFT+ with FFTacText
Post by: vereleisk on August 17, 2015, 01:39:33 AM
Ah ok, I didn't find any other answer, and found it by trial and error, that's why i thought i'd post it here. Although the v457 works really well editing FFT+, and i use v482 for everything else.
Title: Re: Problems editing FFT+ with FFTacText
Post by: Elric on August 17, 2015, 01:58:13 AM
http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=7518.msg208715#msg208715