Final Fantasy Hacktics

Modding => War of the Lions Hacking => Topic started by: Fallout10mm on December 09, 2013, 10:44:42 PM

Title: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Fallout10mm on December 09, 2013, 10:44:42 PM
After spending a day and a half figuring out how to properly replace the male samurai sprite with the
custom made one available on the site, here's a quick tutorial I was asked to write up. 

This is pretty tame compared to replacing a actual story character but will still take about half a hour.

How to Replace a Sprite Correctly in WotL:
(Example used M Samurai by Lijj)

Programs needed:

FFTEVGRP         - For changing formation sprites
FFTpatcher        - Latest Version
Graphics Gale    - To properly edit the formation and portrait sprites
UMDGEN           - For extracting the ISO and re-compiling it

Other stuff needed:

FFT:WoTL ISO
M Samurai.bmp


----------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------

At this point you will need to use Celdia's Formation sprite tutorial HERE (http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=6702.0)
to convert both the custom images for UNIT.BIN & WLDFACE.BIN


----------------------------------------------------------

(http://oi44.tinypic.com/2f0bw4j.jpg)
!!SUCCESS!!


Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Angel on December 10, 2013, 04:00:38 AM
I sincerely thank you for this tutorial. It is more useful than you know.
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: kyozo22 on December 10, 2013, 01:54:50 PM
Yeah, this is brilliant. thanks man. Just got done changing some sprites! :D Thank you very much!

Edit: Ran into a slight problem with a couple of the sprites - namely the Ramza Chapter 4 with cape (FFT: Mercs) and also the Unhooded Meliadoul sprite - the portrait colours are all screwed up before I've even modified them for us in FFTEVGRP. Pretty sure it's quite a common problem/ mistake but can't find a solution (not yet, at least.)

Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Elric on December 15, 2013, 06:14:55 PM
Easiest way to fix that. Open the sprite in Xifs Palette Editor. Click the very first color, this should fix the port.
Hit save. Then close Palette Editor and continue the tutorial :)
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: kyozo22 on December 15, 2013, 08:35:33 PM
Huh, probably going to regret azking this one as will look a tad stupid, buuuut: is that in the Tools section of the downloads? Took a look but couldn't find it anywhere.
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Xifanie on December 15, 2013, 08:47:51 PM
http://zodiac.ffhacktics.com/Palette_Editor.7z
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: kyozo22 on December 15, 2013, 09:00:31 PM
Ah brilliant, thanks guys.
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Feuholden on June 06, 2015, 03:40:14 PM
Hi. Im new to try. And i have question. Where to download all tools? Can i change special job like Holy Knight to my units? How? Ex:beatrix sprites with job Holy Knight. Sorry for my bad english. (Psp version wotl)
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Jumza on June 06, 2015, 04:55:07 PM
You can get Graphics Gale and UMDGen on the internet by searching with google, but FFTPatcher and FFTEVGRP can be downlaoded here: http://ffhacktics.com/wiki/Tools
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Drunkard on June 29, 2015, 08:29:21 PM
Is there a way I can change the cloud sprite to one of the custom sprites? It says it's too large to fit. I only ask because he's my favorite character and I hack him into the first chapter (took me a while to think of a way, kind of new at this still) but dont like his standard look. 
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Nyzer on July 04, 2015, 03:41:35 AM
Is there a way I can change the cloud sprite to one of the custom sprites? It says it's too large to fit. I only ask because he's my favorite character and I hack him into the first chapter (took me a while to think of a way, kind of new at this still) but dont like his standard look.

You need to import the .bmp, not the .spr.
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Elric on July 04, 2015, 06:01:27 AM
Depends what sprite you are trying to replace, in Wotl, you need to replace it with a sprite of equal or lesser size, unlike the PSX version
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Kenichi on July 21, 2015, 04:21:48 PM
Is there any good way to reduce size of sprite?

I'm trying to change Marach sprite but it not easy cause his total size is too low.
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Holy Knight Wiegraf on March 07, 2016, 03:14:21 PM
I would like to know that as well. I am curious and am trying various things to import sprites with highter size to the WOTL version of the game. But without success.
And i read somewhere that it overwrites data if you do it with shishi 352. I would like to avoid that so that the game runs 100% ok.

Does anyone know a solution ?

By the way, thats a great Tutorial Fallout. it helped me a lot. Thank you 4 that !
Title: HELP!
Post by: exkosikat on June 11, 2016, 04:47:40 AM
help! im new here.. im trying to edit WoTL custom animation in EVTCHR but when i import it back using CDmage 1.02.1beta5 it truncate.

i tried cdprog and CDmage 1.01.5 too and it's not working for WoTL.

what should i use to import it back and if there is a tutorial on how to edit EVTCHR pls tell me so i would know if im doing it right. thanks!
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Elric on June 11, 2016, 06:06:08 AM
EVTCHR.BIN always truncates. it's fine, I've never had an issue doing it that way in the psx version.
Title: Re.
Post by: exkosikat on June 12, 2016, 05:15:30 AM
but when it truncates and then i run the iso, it stop working.

im editing the psp version..

is there  a way to fix this problem? how?
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Elric on June 12, 2016, 08:47:41 PM
dunno. I don't mod WotL. and to my knowledge, no one edits EVTCHR in the PSP version.
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Xifanie on June 12, 2016, 08:52:23 PM
Well, we know that quite a few have wanted to, but we haven't exactly ever had someone other than melonhead (FFTPatcher's creator) willing to research that version of the game in all of FFH's 9 years of existence, and he's long gone now. We just keep getting people interested in modding WotL, but no one ever willing to put effort into hacking it. So, most people just scrap their mod project, switch to the PSX version, or make an extremely simple mod (comparing to the modding possibilities of the PSX version).
Title: R
Post by: exkosikat on June 13, 2016, 01:07:31 PM
thanks for the info and quick response.

maybe i'll just close my eyes when an event would occur.. hehe.

i haven't use UMDgen when importing EVTCHR. did someone already tried using it?
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: Nyzer on June 13, 2016, 03:32:34 PM
Quote
maybe i'll just close my eyes when an event would occur.. hehe.

Probably the best thing to do is just to use an existing standard animation instead. There's a lot you can do with those. There's a helpful post out there about them, if it helps:
http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=8352.msg165621#msg165621
Title: Re: How to Correctly Replace Sprites in FFT:WoTL
Post by: daryin on October 05, 2016, 09:56:57 PM
Is there a way to change the sprites of Dark Knight and Onion Knight?