Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Don't be hasty to start your own mod; all our FFT modding projects are greatly understaffed. Find out how you can help in the Recruitment section.

Question about ARH capabilities  (Read 312 times)
Pages: [1]
Always fashionably late to the party.
Lionheart537 [Posts: 124]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [August 16, 2017, 04:26:11 AM]
Question about ARH capabilities
« on: August 16, 2017, 04:26:11 AM »
The actual ARH thread is rather old so i'd rather not bump it. Just a quick question on an idea I had. Is it possible to have certain abilities in generic skillsets only usable by individual characters? For example having Magic Barrier in the White Magic skillset but only be usable by Agrias when she has that skillset equiped. It'd be an interesting way of putting special job abilities in related genric jobs and thus giving them basic squire ability options, or sort of nerfing a special job by spreading their abilities across multiple jobs. Give them a 'favored' class over a completely unique one. Does any of his sound plausible?

    • Modding version: PSX
  • It's not much yet but check out my spriting thread!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11772.0
    Here's a look at my vanilla mod thread, progressing one step at a time!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11785.0
    French Maid
    Xifanie (Webmistress) [Posts: 4259]
    • View Profile
    • Final Fantasy Hacktics
    • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Xifanie
    • share
    • [August 16, 2017, 05:05:25 AM]
    Re: Question about ARH capabilities
    « Reply #1 on: August 16, 2017, 05:05:25 AM »
    Which version? 1 or 2?
    Because that would be easily doable with ARH2 with a bit of ASM knowledge and experience, but ARH1 wasn't made to handle such nitpicky requests. That's why I made ARH2, which is ASM only. Because people just kept asking for their own specific requests that don't apply to anyone else.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • <R999> My target market is not FFT mod players
    <Raijinili> remember that? it was awful
    Always fashionably late to the party.
    Lionheart537 [Posts: 124]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [August 16, 2017, 07:38:53 AM]
    Re: Question about ARH capabilities
    « Reply #2 on: August 16, 2017, 07:38:53 AM »
    I didn't think 2 was available yet, so 1 i'd suppose. Which would mean a no. Unless 2 is out to the public? Not to be a kissass but everyone here does brilliant work btw!

    • Modding version: PSX
  • It's not much yet but check out my spriting thread!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11772.0
    Here's a look at my vanilla mod thread, progressing one step at a time!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11785.0
    French Maid
    Xifanie (Webmistress) [Posts: 4259]
    • View Profile
    • Final Fantasy Hacktics
    • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Xifanie
    • share
    • [August 16, 2017, 11:00:34 AM]
    Re: Question about ARH capabilities
    « Reply #3 on: August 16, 2017, 11:00:34 AM »
    No, 2 isn't available yet indeed, because nearly everyone here are jackasses who don't bother reporting bugs, so now people have to wait until JotF ch1 re-release to get access to my 6 latest hacks so they will actually be tested by 1-2 people who actually do test and report shit. :p
    I don't enjoy releasing hacks that are buggy to the public, so that really leaves me with no alternative.

    But that doesn't really matter unless you're willing to learn ASM anyway.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • <R999> My target market is not FFT mod players
    <Raijinili> remember that? it was awful
    Always fashionably late to the party.
    Lionheart537 [Posts: 124]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [August 16, 2017, 04:40:44 PM]
    Re: Question about ARH capabilities
    « Reply #4 on: August 16, 2017, 04:40:44 PM »
    Fair enough haha. Guess that gives me time to learn how to use it. Hope work and life are going well for your team. V1 is amazing enough for the vanilla mod I'm planning. Thanks for the quick answers.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • It's not much yet but check out my spriting thread!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11772.0
    Here's a look at my vanilla mod thread, progressing one step at a time!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11785.0
    Always fashionably late to the party.
    Lionheart537 [Posts: 124]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [August 30, 2017, 05:07:08 AM]
    Re: Question about ARH capabilities
    « Reply #5 on: August 30, 2017, 05:07:08 AM »
    Hello Webmistress. I had a follow up question about arh (still haven't tested it yet, sorry!) Is it possible to make an ability recquire a non-equipment item to just sit in your inventory? My reasoning being i have been considering changing Odin or Clop effects to a custom Yojimbo summon later on
    The idea being the player having to buy a very expensive item to be able to summon him. Alternatively I could have it recquire an unused weapon type or a dmg=gil lost formula I saw around that may or may not work. Can it be done and which method would work best you think?

    • Modding version: PSX
  • It's not much yet but check out my spriting thread!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11772.0
    Here's a look at my vanilla mod thread, progressing one step at a time!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11785.0
    French Maid
    Xifanie (Webmistress) [Posts: 4259]
    • View Profile
    • Final Fantasy Hacktics
    • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Xifanie
    • share
    • [August 30, 2017, 05:59:03 AM]
    Re: Question about ARH capabilities
    « Reply #6 on: August 30, 2017, 05:59:03 AM »
    Not with ARH1. The easiest way I think would be to create a hack that checks for the unit's team, return 0% hit if not the blue team, and 0% if the blue team but no item in inventory. With ARH2 that would be coded pretty quickly.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • <R999> My target market is not FFT mod players
    <Raijinili> remember that? it was awful
    Pages: [1]