• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

Modifying damage formulas for abilities

Started by Gadwin, April 22, 2017, 11:37:49 am

Gadwin

Hello, I am new to tactics modding. I have downloaded FFTPatcher and have been fiddling around with it for a while now, with the goal of making dragoon's jump command more worthwhile via a simple damage boost. To my understanding, the damage formula for Jump is:

"If [user] is equipped with any weapon, then

damage = [PA * K] * WP

If [user] is barehanded, then

damage = [(PA * Bravery) / 100] * PA

where K = 3/2 if the [user] is equipped with a spear
K = 1 otherwise"

My goal is to edit the spear modifier for "K" to 4/2 instead of 3/2, which should give spear-jumps a 2x damage modifier instead of 1.5x.

If the 3/2 modifier cannot be changed, then I would like to alter some other part of the formula. If editing the formula is simply not possible, I guess I could modify the WP of every spear by 1.25x or something, but I would like to save that as a last resort.

My problem is, I have no idea how to go about looking for a place where I could edit the formula. I have searched these forums and the wiki for a tutorial or information, but the various searches and videos i've tried didn't really get me anywhere. So, I mounted my wotl ISO to the FFTPatcher and loaded up the ability tab, which showed formulas for abilities such as cure, but I could not find Jump in the list of abilities- only the "Horizontal Jump X" and "Vertical Jump X" passives unlocked with JP, which had no formula to go with them. I checked the ability list over and over again thinking I just missed it, but it does not seem to be there. Since Jumping is also a status of sorts, I checked the status effects tab as well, but couldn't find what I needed. I generated "resources.zip" and looked through the related bits of that, but i've still come up empty. I just don't know where to look.