• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

Newbie trying to change everything

Started by Touchet, September 11, 2014, 05:15:23 pm

Touchet

Hello Everyone!

I am very new to this whole modding thing and I really want to get into it. I am just finding it very difficult to know where to start. I know I should try new things, little by little until I am ready to make all of the changes I want to make. I've downloaded a few of the tools on this site but some of them I can't figure out where to start either. I don't know almost anything about ASM but I do have some knowledge of binary and hex. I know a few coding languages like C++ and Actionscript 3, and I have patched FFT with a few mods. I have some questions that if anyone could answer it would be a great help to get me started.

My main goal is to change everything about the game. I want new events, new dialogue, I want to change the classes around almost totally. I know some things are hard coded and can't be completely changed but I would like to work around this to make a fully new experience that is all my own.So far I've only changed a few sprites (which I know is super basic and easy with FFTPatcher). I am working with the PSX version of FFT. So, here are my questions.

1. Where do I begin? Which tools allow me to change the insides of the game, like adding events and dialogue. I know this is usually advanced stuff but I want to dive straight in and learn things the hard way.

2. What is the processes, from start to finish, on getting a mod out? I have a general idea of how I think it might work but I need to know which tools to use first. I would guess I need to extract a few files from the ISO/bin, edit those files using a coding language like ASM, then patch that original file. Which files do I need to work with and what programs do I use to work with them?