Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]
Ansehelm [Posts: 36]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [July 17, 2017, 07:54:56 AM]
Hey y'all,
So I'm trying to maximize new content in a mod I'm making, but things are not always as they seem with regards to what is actually available for use.  For example, I edited skillset 80 (80-9A are all empty and nameless) - it works fine to hold skills, but the name/text I applied to it via patcher doesn't show up, so I figure it's unusable textwise.  Other examples I've noticed are the 5C-5E ??? slots in Shishi - I've actually gotten the first one (or two?) to work, but the third one seems unusable.  Anyways, is there some list of the unusable/glitchy jobs/skillsets/spritesheet slots that I should be aware of to minimize needless effort?

(Also, I notice that jobs 9C - 9F in patcher are empty, although there's no corresponding text boxes for them in tactext - is there a reasonable way to link text to them?)

Thanks
« Last Edit: July 17, 2017, 08:14:10 PM by Ansehelm »
    • Modding version: PSX
  • French Maid
    Xifanie (Webmistress) [Posts: 4235]
    • View Profile
    • Final Fantasy Hacktics
    • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Xifanie
    • share
    • [July 17, 2017, 10:39:44 AM]
    You can use my FFTText Editor to overcome FFTTactext's limitations.
    You can use my Skillsets Behaviours spreadsheet to adjust some special skillset menus back into regular ones, for example. (i.e. Item/Throw/Math Skill/etc.) But it does't sound like you need this. There are plenty of free skillsets available, after all.

    Otherwise I don't know about any sort of limitations towards "unusable/glitchy jobs/skillsets/spritesheet slots", other than ID 00. If you asked about abilities, then that would be a different story, because lots of them are hardcoded.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • <R999> My target market is not FFT mod players
    <Raijinili> remember that? it was awful
    Ansehelm [Posts: 36]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 17, 2017, 08:13:22 PM]
    Well, that answers my main question.  Alright, guess I'd better ask about abilities then: which sets/groups of them are glitchy, and what can I do about it?  I know that stuff like charge, jump and geomancy are hardcoded, but not sure what can be changed about it.  I've also noticed that songs/dances seem to be pretty hardcoded, i.e. I can't really change anything about stuff like battle song (or dupe it) regarding what its effects are.
    Always fashionably late to the party.
    Lionheart537 [Posts: 118]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 27, 2017, 11:44:16 PM]
    Re: Which job/skillset/spritesheet slots and Abilities are glitchy?
    « Reply #3 on: July 27, 2017, 11:44:16 PM »
    If you're still wondering then take a look at this link.

    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=4868.0
    Should answer most of your questions.

    On how to use the skillset behavior hack this link can provide answers through someone else's similar question.

    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11752.0

    To obtain the skillset fix (created by Xifanie) use either of these links. The first one is tied to several of RavenofRazgriz's useful spreadsheets. The second is a direct download.
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=7271.0

    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=953.0;attach=15916

    • Modding version: PSX
  • It's not much yet but check out my spriting thread!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11772.0
    Here's a look at my vanilla mod thread, progressing one step at a time!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11785.0
    Ansehelm [Posts: 36]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 28, 2017, 02:22:22 AM]
    Re: Which job/skillset/spritesheet slots and Abilities are glitchy?
    « Reply #4 on: July 28, 2017, 02:22:22 AM »
    works for me.  Gracias!
    Always fashionably late to the party.
    Lionheart537 [Posts: 118]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 28, 2017, 05:37:20 AM]
    Re: Which job/skillset/spritesheet slots and Abilities are glitchy?
    « Reply #5 on: July 28, 2017, 05:37:20 AM »
    De nada. I'm working and experimenting with my own hack, so if you have questions or want to bounce ideas off each other feel free to pm me (although I'm not very knowledgeable in this area, not yet anyway)

    • Modding version: PSX
  • It's not much yet but check out my spriting thread!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11772.0
    Here's a look at my vanilla mod thread, progressing one step at a time!
    http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=11785.0
    Ansehelm [Posts: 36]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 30, 2017, 05:59:29 AM]
    Re: Which job/skillset/spritesheet slots and Abilities are glitchy?
    « Reply #6 on: July 30, 2017, 05:59:29 AM »
    That would be cool, mate.  I have a project thread over on the ID forums, and I'll be making one here soon.  What is the nature of your project - do you have a thread?
    Pages: [1]