Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Don't be hasty to start your own mod; all our FFT modding projects are greatly understaffed. Find out how you can help in the Recruitment section.

Pages: [1]
arganthonius [Posts: 5]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [July 02, 2017, 12:21:25 AM]
Altering Geomancy and Math Skill - Problems
« on: July 02, 2017, 12:21:25 AM »
I read the Generic Jobs Editing, Skillset Limitations thread but I couldn't find the information needed to do the following:
Change the geomancy skills to normal ones (costing MP, having CT, all being accessible at once), and having Calculator use a different skillset without the formation screen and ability availability bugs.

I converted the Geomancy menu type in the Action Menu tab to <Default>, and altered the natural geomancy abilities. All abilities were 00% and Weapon Range.

I switched Calculator to skillset 4D, giving them a bunch of new abilities. The action menu type is <Default>. If the skillset is equipped as a secondary, the abilities appear and work as normal. If it is equipped as the primary job skillset, half the abilities are missing in battle.

These are the only two skillsets I'm trying to alter in this specific method.
How can I make the skillsets work normally?
May I kill him?
Pride [Posts: 799]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [July 02, 2017, 02:19:14 AM]
Re: Altering Geomancy and Math Skill - Problems
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2017, 02:19:14 AM »
Xifanie has an ASM in her thread that allows you to change the hardcoding of the skillsets, it should fix these kind of bugs.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • Check out my ASM thread. Who doesn't like hax?
    arganthonius [Posts: 5]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 02, 2017, 02:32:40 AM]
    Re: Altering Geomancy and Math Skill - Problems
    « Reply #2 on: July 02, 2017, 02:32:40 AM »
    The ASM works by Excel, and I'm a little confused.
    If I want Geomancy and Math Skill to work normally, but all the others to work like Vanilla, I should change the Geomancy and Math Skill units to Basic Skill, and the others to their names (e.g. Item becomes Item, etc.), right?

    Thank you for your help.
    May I kill him?
    Pride [Posts: 799]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 02, 2017, 04:27:33 AM]
    Re: Altering Geomancy and Math Skill - Problems
    « Reply #3 on: July 02, 2017, 04:27:33 AM »
    Yes correct, you can change them to Basic Skill and then you can leave everything else blank

    • Modding version: PSX
  • Check out my ASM thread. Who doesn't like hax?
    French Maid
    Xifanie (Webmistress) [Posts: 4200]
    • View Profile
    • Final Fantasy Hacktics
    • http://steamcommunity.com/id/Xifanie
    • share
    • [July 02, 2017, 06:53:40 AM]
    Re: Altering Geomancy and Math Skill - Problems
    « Reply #4 on: July 02, 2017, 06:53:40 AM »
    You cannot set a generic's skillset to another. The calculator slot must always have the Math Skill skillset for example, because the game relies on the skillset ID to determine where the learnt abilities are stored in battle.

    Make sure you also apply the Math Skill hacks in Assorted.xml.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • <R999> My target market is not FFT mod players
    <Raijinili> remember that? it was awful
    Emmy [Posts: 212]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 02, 2017, 05:39:32 PM]
    Re: Altering Geomancy and Math Skill - Problems
    « Reply #5 on: July 02, 2017, 05:39:32 PM »
    If you don't have Excel, the old version of that hack still works for that purpose.  You can find it in Raven's Spreadsheets: http://ffhacktics.com/smf/index.php?topic=7271.0  These can open with other spreadsheet programs.
    arganthonius [Posts: 5]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 16, 2017, 01:16:53 AM]
    Re: Altering Geomancy and Math Skill - Problems
    « Reply #6 on: July 16, 2017, 01:16:53 AM »
    Because I have a different version of Excel than is specified in Xifanie's hack, I tried to use the old version. However, there is no change. All the skillsets except for 00, 01 (attack), 02,03,04 are set to FF. I set the FFTPatcher action menus to default, but I am still seeing Weapon Range 00% for all problem skillsets.

    To apply the patch, I copied the xml sheet and placed it within a .txt file, saved it as an .xml, then applied it with FFTorgASM. What am I doing wrong?
    Always fashionably late to the party.
    Lionheart537 [Posts: 13]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 16, 2017, 07:01:41 AM]
    Re: Altering Geomancy and Math Skill - Problems
    « Reply #7 on: July 16, 2017, 07:01:41 AM »
    Don't you also have to change the skillsets' behavior to Default in FFTPatcher? It sounds like you're doing the Xml/ASM part correctly though.

    • Modding version: PSX
  • Michael: *walks up to me* "Derek, i looked in the mirror this morning and I thought... you're getting bigger."

    Me: "God dammit Michael..." *walks away*
    arganthonius [Posts: 5]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 16, 2017, 01:40:47 PM]
    Re: Altering Geomancy and Math Skill - Problems
    « Reply #8 on: July 16, 2017, 01:40:47 PM »
    I did set the action menu to default, and stated so in my post. All the skillset references in Hex are FF except for 00-04. Is that incorrect?
    Emmy [Posts: 212]
    • View Profile
    • share
    • [July 16, 2017, 03:10:41 PM]
    Re: Altering Geomancy and Math Skill - Problems
    « Reply #9 on: July 16, 2017, 03:10:41 PM »
    FF = default.  If you want to change it to something else, do for example 05 to turn it into a normal skillset.  Keep in mind too that some skillsets have additional hardcoding, such as Math skill (you want to remove slowdown and make it not ignore reflect) and Charge (if you change this, you need to remove the hardcoding that makes characters cancel their own spells upon moving).
    Pages: [1]