• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 03:47:13 pm

News:

Please use .png instead of .bmp when uploading unfinished sprites to the forum!

Ramza's standalone skillset

Started by FPSeph, March 20, 2018, 12:05:44 am

FPSeph

Hi fellas, I'm FPSeph and I'm quite new to this FFT modding community and to modding FFT as well.

So with that out of the way I would like if you guys could answer a question of mine about skill sets.

I've decided to mess around with Ramza's base class skillset, like adding skills like Aegis, Unholy Darkness and so on, the thing is, since every skill set has a limited number of skills I've decided to use one of the empty skillset slots (not the ability slots) to make a custom skillset of mine.

My question is, can I give this skillset to Ramza and Ramza only WITHOUT tying it up to a job or do skillsets can only be learned through a job, you see, I don't really want to edit any of the generic jobs abilities which is why I wanted to give this skillset to Ramza only.

Oh! And if there is any other thread that answers this question, can you guys give me the link.
  • Modding version: WotL

Nyzer

Look at the way all of the special units' base Jobs work; nothing in their skillsets is available to generics, nor any other Job that doesn't specifically have those skills in its skillset.

You aren't going to be able to give Ramza some extra skillset and have it stick*. Whatever extra skills you want him to have need to be in his skillset. 16 slots is quite a lot of room; if you're throwing in enough overpowered skills to require a second skillset for them, you may as well just change Wish into a Ramza-only one-hit-kill against every enemy on the field. It'll be faster.

*There is an ASM that can give characters a Bonus skillset, but that's probably too much for you to handle just yet, and is really overkill just for giving one character extra skills. Plus it wouldn't be WotL compatible anyway.