• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 11:24:06 am

News:

Don't be hasty to start your own mod; all our FFT modding projects are greatly understaffed! Find out how you can help in the Recruitment section or our Discord!

'Newbie' Question

Started by Lydyn, March 19, 2008, 12:04:05 am

Lydyn

March 19, 2008, 12:04:05 am Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Lydyn
So, I'm completely new at this and just downloaded it a few days ago with the thought of reworking the Mime class (original FFT) into perhaps a Dark or Mystic Knight... or something, since I can't afford the remake right now.

Anyways, I didn't see any sort of manual or readme at all. Most of it seems... sort of user friendly, though there's quite a bit I don't understand, like some of the "unknown" check boxes and how to rename skill sets, classes, etc. The spirte, I'm not going to mess with .. but the rest, yeah.

I hate to be so generic, but could someone help? Thanks.

karsten

March 19, 2008, 03:08:48 am #1 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by karsten
the mime class so far is the only one that can't be reworked.... it'll keep acting as a mime  :?

Lydyn

March 19, 2008, 05:11:34 pm #2 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by Lydyn
Really? Even if you give it a different skill set? Meh ... well, maybe the Samurai or Ninja then ... or bard/dancer? Any of those combination classes would probably do just fine, especially if I add more requirements, hm?

VincentCraven

March 19, 2008, 05:19:01 pm #3 Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by VincentCraven
Funny how the examples you gave are the ones not supported by FFTPatcher. The unknown check boxes are just that: we haven't figured out what they mean. All of us are waiting for melonhead to release a version with text changing support. Unfortunately, our current method is slow, complicated, and requires a bit of hacking skill.