Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Use of ePSXe before 2.0 is highly discouraged. Mednafen/RetroArch is recommended for playing/testing, pSX is recommended for debugging.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7
CidIII [Posts: 971]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 05, 2009, 11:33:50 PM]
Spriting Tutorial (Using Shishi's, etc.)
« on: March 05, 2009, 11:33:50 PM »
« Last Edit: May 31, 2009, 12:02:07 AM by CidIII »
I refuse to play Final Fantasy Tactics again until I am able to do my FF6 patch! And, FFT 1.3 doesn't technically count as FFT: so there!
gojoe [Posts: 1032]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 06, 2009, 11:40:52 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2009, 11:40:52 PM »
good job cid now if only we had noob bait......
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by gojoe »
I never learn from my mistakes.
DarthPaul [Posts: 5381]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 07, 2009, 02:57:55 AM]
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2009, 02:57:55 AM »
Shouldn't this be the "For Dummies" section?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by darthpaul »
Oh pitiful shadow lost in the darkness, bringing torment and pain to others. Oh damned soul wallowing in your sin, perhaps...it is time to die
CidIII [Posts: 971]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 07, 2009, 04:14:26 AM]
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2009, 04:14:26 AM »
Isn't that what the help section is?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by CidIII »
I refuse to play Final Fantasy Tactics again until I am able to do my FF6 patch! And, FFT 1.3 doesn't technically count as FFT: so there!
Smash
  • share
  • [March 07, 2009, 04:53:10 AM]
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2009, 04:53:10 AM »
Hm.

This is indeed epic. If only this was done around a month ago..

Anyhow, a few small images explaining some of the most cruicial aspects would make this alot better, as well as separating the sections a bit, for it not to look like one big continous tut.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Smash »
CidIII [Posts: 971]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 07, 2009, 05:22:57 AM]
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2009, 05:22:57 AM »
I was planning on doing some pictures for the palette section a little later, but do you think I need pictures for this?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by CidIII »
I refuse to play Final Fantasy Tactics again until I am able to do my FF6 patch! And, FFT 1.3 doesn't technically count as FFT: so there!
ChaosNyte
  • share
  • [March 13, 2009, 07:45:11 AM]
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2009, 07:45:11 AM »
Amazing thread, helped me out trmendously; I just wish You'd tell us how to make them show up in the unit screen, heh.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by ChaosNyte »
Slowly resume pixel art, work somethg favourite ~
jimmyjw88 [Posts: 2913]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 13, 2009, 10:52:14 AM]
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2009, 10:52:14 AM »
Replace the sprites in unit.bin file
But of course, they need to be in 16-bit colors. ^^
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by jimmyjw88 »
Kindly upload the images to other image hosting sites. I can't view imageshack. Thanks.
DarthPaul [Posts: 5381]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 13, 2009, 01:08:30 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2009, 01:08:30 PM »
Quote from: "CidIII"
Isn't that what the help section is?



I was suggesting a rename.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by darthpaul »
Oh pitiful shadow lost in the darkness, bringing torment and pain to others. Oh damned soul wallowing in your sin, perhaps...it is time to die
SentinalBlade [Posts: 1505]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 13, 2009, 06:53:06 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2009, 06:53:06 PM »
@CidIII

on your note #1, it is possible, its in my "Adding more Lucavi" tutorial, which in all honesty should be name changed. auradragon posted a new list of the correct addresses to change a sprite from 1 to type 2. No one seemed to notice that contribution before he left.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by SentinalBlade »
CidIII [Posts: 971]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 15, 2009, 01:39:58 AM]
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2009, 01:39:58 AM »
What exactly do you do, search for the sprite byte of the character you want to replace and replace their bytes with those of the desired sprite type?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by CidIII »
I refuse to play Final Fantasy Tactics again until I am able to do my FF6 patch! And, FFT 1.3 doesn't technically count as FFT: so there!
Azrael
  • share
  • [March 29, 2009, 09:43:41 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2009, 09:43:41 PM »
This, I would like to know, as well, a more-detailed explanation for getting sprites into UNIT.BIN... I mean, I imagine I know how to replace something with FFTtools and the tutorials (thx, SB), but I admit I still feel like something's missing..

Like, how do I link a sprite to UNIT.BIN? Specifically, I've a generic-made-NPC (more thanks) that uses slot 23 Bi-Count as well as skillset 23 (seemed to be the only way to get the game to let me use the skillset I chose!), and sprite slot 23. Just overrode the whole thing, and made Rudvich use slot C0 I think (ty, Zodiac).

...how do I attach the proper formation sprite...? Right now it's using Ramza's ch 1 sprite. and Rudvich's portrait in formation...
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Azrael »
H.U.N.K [Posts: 20]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 29, 2009, 10:32:07 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2009, 10:32:07 PM »
Uh hey there I am kinda new to this stuf and would like to know.
When I try to open the Shishi Sprite editor it first asks to run or not run it, I click run and then it tells me: Please set regisrty key HKLM\Software\Microsoft\.NETFramework\InstallRoot to point to the .NET Framework install location.

Could someone tell me in a simpler way what it wants me to do?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by H.U.N.K »
Cheetah [Posts: 3656]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 29, 2009, 10:52:25 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2009, 10:52:25 PM »
You might just need to install the .NET Framework, google it.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Cheetah »
Current Projects:
H.U.N.K [Posts: 20]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 30, 2009, 05:37:15 AM]
(No subject)
« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2009, 05:37:15 AM »
Ok time for my next noob question, What is an ISO? I need a more comprehesive understanding of them before I use this. I tryed searching all the folders in my computer for the right files on the shishi program but all of my folders appear empty.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by H.U.N.K »
Azrael
  • share
  • [March 30, 2009, 05:50:00 AM]
(No subject)
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2009, 05:50:00 AM »
.ISO is simply a type of image file.. specifically, a disc image - long story short, it should ideally be the file acting as your copy of FFT, though sometimes there are a few different files... for example, whenever I'm asked for my .ISO, I offer up what is actually a .BIN file (not to be confused with the ones that are actually ON the game, as opposed to the game itself..)..

Hope that answered your question.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Azrael »
H.U.N.K [Posts: 20]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 30, 2009, 05:52:58 AM]
(No subject)
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2009, 05:52:58 AM »
So what this means is that I need to upload the memory stick file( Im using the psp) and it will take my chareecters and I can edit them?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by H.U.N.K »
Azrael
  • share
  • [March 30, 2009, 07:53:32 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2009, 07:53:32 PM »
umm... actually, in the case of PSP, I admit I'm not sure - never even touched one of those before. However, that SHOULD be the case. Whatever you load up, when it asks for  the .ISO, it's asking for your game.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Azrael »
CidIII [Posts: 971]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 31, 2009, 09:53:09 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #18 on: March 31, 2009, 09:53:09 PM »
If you already have a clean .ISO on your memory stick you can copy and paste it on to your computer hard drive yes.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by CidIII »
I refuse to play Final Fantasy Tactics again until I am able to do my FF6 patch! And, FFT 1.3 doesn't technically count as FFT: so there!
H.U.N.K [Posts: 20]
  • View Profile
  • share
  • [March 31, 2009, 11:38:37 PM]
(No subject)
« Reply #19 on: March 31, 2009, 11:38:37 PM »
Ok so when I looked into my psp folders, I found my WOTL file and it appeared empty on the Sprite editor......why?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by H.U.N.K »
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7