• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 10:52:57 am

News:

Don't be hasty to start your own mod; all our FFT modding projects are greatly understaffed! Find out how you can help in the Recruitment section or our Discord!

Idea : Side-Stories

Started by Lyans, September 22, 2014, 07:58:55 pm

Lyans

Hello All,

I'm new here, but been aware of this community since a few years.
I have some experience in coding/hacking and I'm looking forward to discover FFT codes.

So here the idea :

To create side-stories of the current FFT (PSX) occuring before, during and after the game timeline.

The Master Plan :

#1 Setup a basic game image : same stuff as original except new game starts right on world map.
#2 Need to block portion of the world map and set position.
#3 Need to declare a event upon moving on world map.
#4 Need to edit caracters on event/fight.
#5 Need to edit dialogue and positions in the event/fight.
#6 Change winning condition to the fight.
#7 Will like to add like 3-4 events/fights (orange dot-like) than original credits after the last fight.

Note : Battle Mechanics remains the original's. :(

I've started reading guides/tutorials here, but can someone pinpoint or give insight to help me start things here.

:) Thank you very much!

3lric

September 25, 2014, 10:11:58 pm #1 Last Edit: October 12, 2014, 05:46:28 pm by Elric
Im not sure I understand, are you wanting to make a iso with just 3 or 4 battles and then
it ends?
  • Modding version: PSX

Lyans

September 29, 2014, 04:16:56 pm #2 Last Edit: October 11, 2014, 07:19:29 pm by Lyans
Exactly!

Just a couple of fights/scenes and end of the side story.
A different image for a different story.

Lyans

Adding up. Anyone knows about removing the intro (all the way to the world map) from the "New Game" command?

3lric

different ways, I dunno bout the intro/name selection, I'm sure that would require ASM