• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 08:04:29 am

News:

Please use .png instead of .bmp when uploading unfinished sprites to the forum!

Complete noob's guide to ripping sound effects while in game

Started by Bowser Koopa, August 15, 2010, 01:07:35 pm

Bowser Koopa

August 15, 2010, 01:07:35 pm Last Edit: November 02, 2011, 09:51:14 am by Bowser Koopa
Final Fantasy Tactics (PSX) - Sound Effect Ripping Tutorial by Bowser Koopa
=================================================================

Hey folks,

So, if you're like me, you have some sort of sick obsession: you've been dying to get a hold of some Final Fantasy Tactics sound effects for years (say, for something like a cell phone notification sound, ringtone, or maybe a sound effect for a cool b-movie like film you're working on at home), but haven't had a way to rip them from the game since the game doesn't allow you to mute the background music. I was in this boat until a few days ago.

Before you get started in doing any of this, I have to let you know that Zodiac's already been kind enough to rip/record a LOT of sound effects from the game (sadly the sound I was looking for wasn't in this list). So, if you're looking for something like the typewriter sound that occurs when letters are being spelled out during character dialogue, that's already been ripped! Check out these currently ripped sounds in mp3 format:
http://ffhacktics.com/instructions.php?id=6B
http://ffhacktics.com/instructions.php?id=21

Also, the following tutorial exists for ripping sound effects from the FFT Effect directory BIN files within the Final Fantasy Tactics image (tutorial created by R999):
viewtopic.php?f=36&t=5501&p=116785&hilit=sound+effect#p116785