• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 11:58:33 pm

News:

Don't be hasty to start your own mod; all our FFT modding projects are greatly understaffed! Find out how you can help in the Recruitment section or our Discord!

Introduction!

Started by Ninety, January 22, 2016, 06:59:58 pm

Ninety

Hey all! I'm Ninety. For want of a general questions thread, I'm doing a full introduction here (if there is one, I'd appreciate a pointer). I'm a long-time fan of the Tactics series, TA and TA2 over FFT. I've been interesting in modding the former two for a while now (gameplay, mostly), but didn't know where to begin, so here I am! I wanted to know -- how in-depth and accessible are the tools available, and what level of prior knowledge is required? I have some basic knowledge of programming and computer architecture, but I haven't done any work on ROMs or general modding yet. Looking forward to working with you all!

Angel

Hi, Ninety!

In-depth
FFT (PSX): Quite. Lots of tools around for changing nearly everything within reason.
WotL (PSP): While some tools that work for PSX FFT also work for PSP WotL, they aren't as versatile and only work in a limited way. Many things are not possible with WotL currently.
WotL (iOS/Android): Save-editing only.
FFTA: A few helpful tools are available.
FFTA2: Rather more limited than FFTA.

Accessible
FFT (PSX): With the exception of movie editing and custom music, all the tools are quite accessible (though a couple have their quirks).
WotL (PSP): Accessibility is deceptive, as you won't always be aware of a restriction until you hit it.
WotL (iOS/Android): Seeing as there's only save editing available, it's pretty straightforward.
FFTA: Darthatron's All-In-One speaks for itself.
FFTA2: I am actually pretty unfamiliar, to be honest. But I do know it's been worked on and comes up occasionally in IRC.
  • Modding version: PSX
* Angel should quit being a lazy bitch
<@Elric> I agree to that as well