• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

April 16, 2024, 02:21:22 am

News:

Use of ePSXe before 2.0 is highly discouraged. Mednafen, RetroArch, and Duckstation are recommended for playing/testing, pSX is recommended for debugging.

Completely new to this

Started by CHL_305, June 09, 2013, 11:43:03 am

CHL_305

Hello I just wanted to introduce myself, my name is CHL or Luke. I am really new to this whole thing so I may have a lot of what will seem to be ignorant questions. I played WotL on PSP a few years ago and I loved it. Recently I have been looking to get back into it and from research I found that the original Tactics was a much better game.

So now I am looking to get into the original FFT. Research brought me to this site which I heard has done a lot for improving the original game. I guess first step is to find a way of playing it and incorporating the mods into my gameplay.

I guess I need some help getting started, hopefully someone can nudge me in the right direction. It seems I would have to get the PSX first so I can incorporate the mods (if I am breaking forum rules, please let me know or pm me). What would be a safe and certain option to get it on my laptop? Once I have that I guess I just add the patches from this site.

CHL_305

So after some work I think I am setup. What would you suggest for someone that has played FFT: WotL to play on psx?

The consensus seems to be 1.3, should I start with that or is there some better all around mod to start with? I guess I am looking for a game experience close to the original but with all the community-agreed improvements. Once again, sorry for the noobish questions, I am really new to this.

Thanks.

cowcow96