• Welcome to Final Fantasy Hacktics. Please login or sign up.

April 19, 2024, 07:56:08 pm

News:

Use of ePSXe before 2.0 is highly discouraged. Mednafen, RetroArch, and Duckstation are recommended for playing/testing, pSX is recommended for debugging.

Test Characters

Started by ChukyDragon, March 25, 2014, 12:15:39 pm

ChukyDragon

:v/: Hi People!!
I like to know some stuff and help at something...
I like to test some Custom Characters create from everyone here, but the thing is: how i add a special character to the original (or modded) game - psx i prefer - so that i can made a special one!!!

I see a lot of works at the forums: (http://ffhacktics.com/sprites.php) and i want to know more of - test it, use it, modding and repair (if i can) so i can create a version for me and add it to the game.

Please anyway all people can help... :? :v/:

PS: please excuse me if this isn't the forum for this but i'm new at this (the forum)

Angel

March 26, 2014, 08:58:26 am #1 Last Edit: March 26, 2014, 09:11:19 am by Toshiko
The quick answer is: get ShiShi from the downloads page, as part of FFTPatcher Suite. Load ISO, replace sprites where appropriate. WARNING! ShiShi autosaves, so once you import a sprite, it is auto-written to the ISO. Best to make a copy of the ISO and work from that instead of your only copy of FFT.

Now, the catch... ShiShi only replaces in-battle character sprites. The formation screen sprites, you have to do yourself, and it's a lot more complicated. Thankfully, the wonderful Celdia has written a very in-depth tutorial on the matter. Another catch: if you edit Ramza or any other character with event-specific sprites (EVTCHRs), they'll be broken all to hell unless you fix them (either the EVTCHR or the event itself). This even includes the generic male Knight.

Edit: Sorry, just woke up and derped. You were asking how to test sprites that you're editing, not how to import them.